Will not be contesting Bengal Assembly polls: TMC MLA Samir Chakraborty

Samir Chakraborty 1

At a time when the Trinamool Congress is battling towards a mass exodus of its occasion’s leaders to the BJP, its MLA from the Taldangra constituency in Bankura district Samir Chakraborty stated on Friday that he’s not going to contest the upcoming Assembly polls.

Making public his determination, Chakraborty wrote on Facebook, “I have informed Mamata Banerjee that I will not be contesting the upcoming Assembly polls. However, I will definitely be campaigning for the party.”

This comes barely two days after Trinamool Congress MLA and former Asansol mayor Jitendra Tiwari joined the BJP. Tiwari was the newest entrant amongst a number of TMC leaders and MLAs who’ve defected to the saffron occasion forward of the Assembly elections.

The upcoming Assembly polls in West Bengal have emerged as a three-way contest between the Mamata Banerjee-led TMC which is a 3rd time period, a resurgent BJP, and the Congress-Left-ISF grand alliance.

The Election Commission of India (ECI) has introduced an eight-phase election schedule for the 294-seat West Bengal Assembly ranging from March 27 and happening until April 29. About 7,32,94,980 electors will train their franchise throughout 1,01,916 polling cubicles.