Vijay Rupani resigns as Gujarat CM: Who’s subsequent in line?

Must Read

- Advertisement -

With Vijay Rupani resigning from the CM’s place, names of a number of BJP leaders from the state have popped up for the publish.

A take a look at the important thing contenders:

- Advertisement -

Gordhan Zadafia (67)

Gordhan Zadafia

- Advertisement -

Zadafia is a Leuva Patidar from Thhasavillage of Bhavnagar district. During 2002 Gujarat riots, he was the Minister of State for Home. One of the closest confidantes of founding members of BJP and first BJP CM in state, Keshubhai Patel, Zadafia had parted methods with the occasion and the then CM Narendra Modi. He even launched the primary Maha Gujarat Janata Party and joined Keshubhai Patel’s Gujarat Parivartan Party. Subsequently, Zadafia returned to BJP. He is presently the vice-president of Gujarat BJP.

Nitin Patel (65)

- Advertisement -

Nitin Patel and Vijay Rupani at BJP state workplace near Gandhinagar (Express picture/Javed Raja)

Nitin Patel, the deputy chief minister within the Rupani authorities is a senior Kadva Patidar chief of the BJP who has roots in Mehsana district. Patel, who grew to become a cupboard minister in 1995, continued to carry essential portfolios, together with the Finance and Health departments. Being a front-runner for the chief ministerial publish in 2016 when Anandiben Patel was faraway from the place, Rupani pipped him on the final minute.

Mansukh Mandaviya (49)

Mansukh Mandaviya in Kolkata (Express Photo/Partha Paul)

Born in a farmer’s household in Hanol village of Bhavnagar district, Mandaviya has made fast strides since he joined ABVP in 1992. He served within the youth wing of the BJP, then gained his maiden Assembly election in 2002. Hailing from Leuva Patel sub-caste group of numerically sturdy Patidar group, he was elected to Rajya Sabha in 2012. He was inducted as a Minister of State within the Union Council of Ministers in 2016. In July, he was elevated as a Cabinet Minister and allotted Health portfolio.

Praful Khodabhai Patel (63)

Praful Patel

Administrator of union territories of Daman, Diu, Dadra Nagar Haveli and Lakshadweep, he belongs to Umta village in Mehsana district and have become minister of state for Home when Narendra Modi was the CM. Praful’s solely profitable stint in electoral politics thus far was in 2007 when he contested from the Himmatnagar as a BJP candidate. He is taken into account very near PM Modi.

CR Paatil (66)

CR Paatil with PM Modi (File)

Appointed occasion president in Gujarat in July, Paatil is a three-time MP from Navsari. A local of Jalgaon in Maharashtra, Paatil had served Gujarat Police earlier than becoming a member of politics. After taking on because the occasion president, Paatil has introduced a variety of modifications to the occasion organisation whereas setting the goal of profitable all 182 seats within the subsequent Assembly polls.


- Advertisement -

Latest News

More Articles Like This