PTI challenges NA-75 by-polls results

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has challenged the Election Commission of Pakistan’s (ECP) decision of re-polling at all polling stations in the NA-75 Daska in the Supreme Court (SC) on Friday.

The petition has been moved by a PTI candidate from Daska Ali Asjad Malhi. The PTI candidate has pleaded with the court to nullify the ECP’s decision of re-polling in NA-75.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) last week had decided to file two petitions against the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) decision on NA-75 Daska by-polls after approval from Prime Minister Imran Khan.

It is pertinent to mention here that the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Feb 25. had ordered re-polling at all polling stations of NA-75 Sialkot-Daska over rigging.

Terming the polling null and void in the NA-75, the ECP had ordered re-polling in the constituency on March 18.

Read more: PDM narrative ‘flops’ due to anti-Pakistan agenda: Ch Fawad

Besides this, the ECP also decided to suspend the concerned Deputy Commissioner, District Police Officer (DPO), Assistant Commissioner and SPDO Daska over “rigging” during the by-poll in the NA-75 constituency.

NA-75 by-polls

Notably, the seat of NA-75 Tehsil Daska, District Sialkot was vacated after the death of PML-N’s MNA Syed Iftikhar-ud-Din in August 2020. PML-N gave the ticket to his daughter, Nosheen Iftikhar, in the by-election.

Federal Information Minister Shibli Faraz claimed that the ruling Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf had won NA-75 by-poll with a clear majority.

Talking to journalists after offering his condolences to the bereaved families in Daska, Shibli Faraz said that he came here on the directions of Prime Minister Imran Khan to commiserate with the family of a PTI worker, who was killed on the polling day as a result of firing by Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) supporters.

Read more: Senate vote is being sold for Rs500 million to Rs700 million in Balochistan, reveals PM Khan

He maintained that the prime minister was determined to eliminate the politics of money and vandalism from the country. The minister said that after sensing defeat in the by-poll, PML-N sent Rana Sanaullah and Mian Javed Latif in the constituency to disrupt the election process.

Special Assistant to Chief Minister (SACM) Punjab on Information Dr. Firdous Ashiq Awan also claimed that PTI was winning the NA-75 Daska by-poll with the lead of 7,827 votes.