Tuesday, December 1, 2020

Nitish sworn in, BJP picks two Dy CMs in NDA social balancing

Must Read

Despite pressure, Turkey attracts extra Egyptians than ever

Dec 1, 2020 CAIRO — Istanbul has develop into a vacation spot for a lot of Egyptians...

BSF officer killed in ceasefire violation by Pakistani military in J&Okay’s Poonch

By: PTI | Jammu | Updated: December 1, 2020 4:42:39 pm The incident occurred at...

Iran has nothing to gain from halting inspections: Grossi

Iran has nothing to gain from ending inspections of its nuclear facilities, the head of the UN’s nuclear watchdog...

Written by Santosh Singh | Patna | November 17, 2020 5:01:15 am Nitish with deputy CMs Tarkishore Prasad and Renu Devi, after swearing-in, in Patna Monday. PTI Nitish Kumar took oath as Bihar Chief Minister for the seventh time on Monday with two Deputy Chief Ministers from the BJP — four-time Katihar MLA Tarkishore Prasad and four-time Bettiah MLA Renu Devi.
A complete of 15 ministers had been administered the oath of workplace by Bihar Governor Phagu Chauhan — seven from the BJP, together with Tarkishore Prasad and Renu Devi; six from the JD(U), together with Nitish; and one every from the Vikassheel Insaan Party (VIP) and Hindustani Awam Morcha (Secular).
ALSO READ | RJD blames Congress for defeat; boycotts Nitish swearing-in occasion
Union Home Minister Amit Shah and BJP nationwide president J P Nadda had been amongst those that attended the ceremony.
Congratulating Nitish, Prime Minister Narendra Modi tweeted: “The NDA family will work together for the progress of Bihar. I assure all possible support from the Centre for the welfare of Bihar.”
The BJP’s former deputy chief minister, Sushil Kumar Modi, who has been dropped this time, could also be accommodated on the Centrce, however there isn’t a official phrase but. Sushil Modi first turned Deputy Chief Minister in 2005, when Nitish got here to energy, and retained the put up since then — besides when Jitan Ram Manjhi was Chief Minister between 2014 and 2015, and when the JD(U) was with the RJD in 2015-2017.
Besides Nitish, the opposite JD(U) ministers are: veteran social gathering chief Bijendra Prasad Yadav, former Assembly Speaker Vijay Kumar Choudhary, the social gathering’s state working president Ashok Kumar Choudhary, Tarapur MLA and former Vice Chancellor of Sabour Agriculture University Mewalal Choudhary, and first-time MLA from Phulparas Sheela Kumari.
The JD(U), which is down from 71 seats to 43, has saved social engineering in thoughts in its selection of ministers, giving illustration to the higher caste (Vijay Kumar Choudhary), Extremely Backward Class (Sheela Kumari), Scheduled Caste (Ashok Kumar Choudhary), and Other Backward Class (Mewalal Choudhary and Bijendra Prasad Yadav). Vijay Kumar Choudhary and Ashok Kumar Choudhary are identified to be near Nitish.
The BJP, which elevated its tally from 53 seats to 74 within the 243-member Assembly, has adopted the Uttar Pradesh system with two Deputy Chief Ministers.
While Tarkishore Prasad and Renu Devi belong to the OBC and EBC respectively, former Bihar Health Minister Mangal Pandey, Ara MLA Amrendra Pratap Singh and Jale MLA Jiwesh Kumar signify the higher caste. Ramsurat Rai, OBC chief from Muzaffarpur, and Rampreet Paswan, Scheduled Caste MLA from Rajnagar in Mithilanchal belt, are the opposite two BJP ministers.
While former minister and seven-time Patna Saheb MLA Nand Kishore Yadav didn’t take oath on Monday, he’s tipped to be the Assembly Speaker – a put up held by the JD(U) thus far.
Prem Kumar, one other senior social gathering chief who was not included in immediately’s listing of ministers, could also be accommodated later.
VIP chief Mukesh Sahani, who misplaced by a slim margin from Simri Bakhtiyarpur, additionally took oath on Monday. As promised by the BJP earlier, he can be despatched to the Upper House within the state. From the HAM, former Chief Minister Jitan Ram Manjhi’s son and MLC Santosh Kumar Suman took oath. Both the VIP and HAM gained 4 seats every.
Meanwhile, the Opposition Mahagatbandhan alliance boycotted the oath-taking ceremony, with state RJD president Jagdanand Singh calling it “loot of the mandate”. The RJD emerged as the only largest social gathering with 75 seats.
In a tweet, RJD chief Tejashwi Yadav congratulated Nitish for being “nominated” because the Chief Minister. “I hope he makes his priority positive issues such as aspirations of the people of Bihar, the NDA’s promise of 19 lakh jobs — employment, education, health, livelihood, irrigation and justice — rather than his ambition for the chair,” he tweeted.
In an obvious swipe at Nitish, LJP president Chirag Paswan tweeted: “I congratulate you on becoming the chief minister and the BJP for making you one… Hope the government will complete its term and you will continue to be the NDA’s chief minister.”
In one other tweet, he termed the NDA’s victory within the state polls as “a big win for Prime Minister Narendra Modi”.
Prashant Kishor, as soon as Nitish’s shut aide tweeted: “With a tired and politically belittled leader as CM, #Bihar should brace for few more years of lacklustre governance”. 📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click right here to hitch our channel (@indianexpress) and keep up to date with the newest headlines For all the newest India News, obtain Indian Express App.

Latest News

More Articles Like This