Brussels warns six EU nations towards travel restrictions

h 54193707

Ιn a letter despatched to Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Hungary and Sweden, the European Commission has urged the nations to respect the travel restrictions suggestions of the European Council and to align with the Union’s rules in regard to freedom of motion.

“The commission wants to recall to the European member states that it is a necessity to go back to a coordinated approach on all the measures taken in relation to the free movement of people and goods,” the bloc’s justice commissioner Didier Reynders stated on Tuesday in a video posted on Twitter.

Despite suggestions by the Commission, the six EU nations have taken unilateral measures to curb the unfold of Coronavirus. In January, Belgium imposed a non-essential travel ban that has been prolonged to April 1, whereas earlier this month, Germany positioned entry restrictions at its borders with the Czech Republic and Austria’s Tyrol. Hungary, for its half, has saved its borders closed to almost all foreigners since summer time. Finland has imposed a non-essential travel ban till February 25, whereas Sweden has blocked entry for these coming from the UK, Denmark and Norway. Denmark has additionally positioned restrictions at its borders because the starting of the pandemic. 

The nations have ten days to supply the EU Executive with explanations about their ban on non-essential travel. 

Reynders argued that the measures have gone “too far”, citing that much less restrictive measures, comparable to discouraging travel may additionally work as an alternative of banning motion from one state to a different. His feedback got here forward of a General Affairs Council (GAC) on Tuesday morning, which gathered the bloc’s EU affairs ministers. 

“The EU Council has agreed on a coordinated approach on free movement to ensure proportionate measures and preserve essential travel,” the Justice Commissioner wrote in one other submit.