BJP decides candidates for Rajkot APMC polls; BKS, too, enters fray

Must Read

- Advertisement -

In a change from custom, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) management has chosen candidates for election to the Rajkot Agricultural Produce Market Committee (APMC), one of many largest wholesale markets of the state, and repeated solely certainly one of its sitting administrators within the board.

The move has not gone down properly with the Bharatiya Kisan Sangh (BKS) that has fielded candidates for all posts.

- Advertisement -

“The administration of institutes of farmers must remain with farmers and not any political party. The BJP has sought to intervene in affairs of Rajkot APMC and therefore, we are compelled to raise our voice and fight the election,” stated Dilip Sakhiya, president of Rajkot district unit of BKS.

Elections to the cooperative our bodies should not fought on celebration symbols and thus far, political events used to permit their native cooperative leaders to take impartial calls. The BJP has modified that custom for Rajkot APMC polls.

- Advertisement -

Sources stated that the celebration desires to copy state BJP president CR Paatil’s no-repeat concept adopted in native physique elections early this yr in election to cooperative our bodies additionally.

A committee has been fashioned to pick candidates for the Rajkot APMC election who would have celebration’s assist. The committee comprised former minister Jayesh Radadiya, BJP’s Rajkot district unit president Mansukh Khachariya and state BJP vice-presidents Bharat Boghra and Mahendrasinh Sarvaiya. Radadiya can also be chairman of RDC Bank.

- Advertisement -

“The committee finalised the names of candidates in consultation with Paatil. The only sitting board of director been chosen to seek re-election is Lalji Savaliya as he has a major control over votes,” stated a BJP chief on situation of anonymity. Savaliya was earlier the president of Rajkot district BJP unit chief.

Incumbent chairman of Rajkot APMC, DK Sakhiya and former chairman Hardevsinh Jadeja don’t determine among the many 58 candidates who’ve filed their nomination papers for the October 5 election. “The party has kept Sakhiya in good humour by backing the candidature of his son Jitendra,” stated sources.

Polling to elect 14 members to the board of administrators of Rajkot APMC is because of be held on October 5 and counting the next day. Of the 14 members, eight are elected by village-level cooperative societies of Rajkot, Lodhika and Padadhari talukas. Four different members are elected by merchants of Rajkot APMC whereas two are elected by sale-purchase unions in these three talukas.

The board co-opts one member from Bedi village panchayat, in whose jurisdiction the yard of the Rajkot APMC is situated whereas the federal government nominates two different members.

An incumbent functionary of the outgoing board of the Rajkot APMC stated BKS’s entry gained’t have a lot impression. “It is true they raise farmer’s voice on important matters. But farmers are not the voters in this election,” stated the functionary.


- Advertisement -

Latest News

More Articles Like This