Tuesday, August 3, 2021

Anti-CAA protests: Gates of Rajiv Chowk, 18 other metro stations closed – Times of India

Must Read


Delhi Metro Rail Company

on Thursday closed entry and exit gates of 19 stations like the occupied Rajiv Chowk for commuters in see of protests in the national cash towards the Citizenship (Modification) Act.

Previously in the morning, the DMRC had closed gates of seven stations, together with Jamia Millia, Jama Masjid and Munirka. 7 extra were shut quickly just after, followed by other folks in speedy succession.

Previously, the DMRC experienced tweeted that Janpath station’s gates had been also shut and that trains will not be halting there.

In advance of Janpath, the DMRC experienced closed Barakhamba Road and Mandi House stations.

Other shut stations integrated: Patel Chowk, Lok Kalyan Marg, Udyog Bhawan, ITO, Pragati Maidan and Khan Market place.

The gates of Central Secretariat were also closed but interchange facility was obtainable there for travellers. Jasola Vihar Shaheen Bagh, Lal Quila, Vishwa Vidyalaya, Jama Masjid, Chandni Chowk and Vasant Vihar have also been shut.

Resources mentioned the entry and exit gates were being closed so that folks going to protest venues could be dissuaded.

The stations were being shut as protest versus the amended Citizenship Act escalated in the countrywide capital on Thursday.

Senior opposition leaders, a significant amount of students and activists were being detained by police on their way to two mega demonstrations in opposition to the new citizenship law as prohibitory orders and limits on internet and cell cellular phone services in components of Delhi-NCR region inconvenienced thousands of men and women.

Latest News

More Articles Like This